Black Eyed Peas and Collard Greens


Happy New Year!

Staying with the ongoing tradition, I cooked black eyed peas and collard greens this New Years too. Rather than soup this year I tried this easy, quick, and simple recipe. I made no changes to the original recipe other than the quantities. It turned out delicious.

Here’s how I made mine.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup black eyed peas
  • 1 bunch collard greens
  • 2 Roma tomatoes
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt and fresh ground pepper
  • cayenne pepper
  • lemon juice
  • some parmesan cheese

Soak dry black eyed peas overnight or for 8-10 hours in some water.

Rinse the black eyed peas, add one cup water and cook. I usually like to pressure cook my beans.

Heat some oil in a pan. Add minced garlic and fry lightly. Add chopped collard greens and fry for 5-6 minutes. Add chopped tomatoes, and black eyed peas and continue cooking. Season with salt and peppers. Drizzle lemon juice and continue frying till moisture evaporates. Sprinkle cheese and serve warm with some bread.

Have a Happy and Healthy New Year!