Jalapeno and Sundried Tomato Bread


You knew this one was coming 🙂

Since my adventures at learning to bake fresh home made bread (See: It’s All About the Flour) I have been warning about my desire to make healthy, and exotic bread.

This one is right out of my heart. My desire to learn bread making is driven by my desire to bake bread more to my liking. Healthy, nutritious and filled with ingredients and toppings I like.

Now that I mastered the basic principles, I wanted to try my first iteration of a healthier version of the no knead bread with my favorite toppings. So here goes. This one is loosely based on this one which is based on the New York Times no knead bread.

Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 cups whole purpo flour
1/4 tsp yeast
1 tsp kosher salt
1 5/8 cup water
1/2 cup chopped jalapenos (fresh if you dare or pickled)
1/2 cup sun dried tomatoes
1/4 cup shredded cheese

Mix 1 cup whole wheat flour, 2 cups whole purpose flour, 1 tsp kosher salt, 1/4 tsp yeast and 1 5/8 cup water and set aside for 12-18 hours. This is how it is going to look after 18 hours.

Layer a flat surface with  flour. Apply flour to your hands to prevent sticking and transfer the dough to the flat surface. Flatten and cover with  plastic wrap for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile chop fresh jalapeno or pickled jalapeno and sun-dried tomato. After 15 minutes, remove plastic wrap, toss in 1/3 the jalapeno, sun-dried tomato and cheese (typically sharp cheddar is used but I am not a fan of cheddar and  used pepper jack). Fold over and add another 1/3 of the jalapeno, sun-dried tomato and the cheese.

Lay out a cotton towel with some flour.Transfer the dough. You can top the rest of the toppings on the top layer. Flour another cotton towel and cover the dough. Set aside for 2 hours allowing the dough to rise and double in size.

Pre heat oven  to 450 degrees 45 minutes prior to the completion of the 2 hour period. Place a dutch oven in the oven. After 45 minutes have elapsed,  transfer the dough to the dutch oven. Cover and bake for 30 minutes with the lid on the dutch oven. Remove lid and continue baking for an additional 15 minutes without the lid.

Cool on rack for an hour before slicing the bread.