Methi Dal


I love green leafy vegetables. Spinach. Amaranth. Fenugreek. Red Sorrel. Basil. Kale. Lettuce. Parsley. Cilantro. Mint. You get it!

The one green leafy vegetable I have less patience for is Methi or Fenugreek leaf. Small. Requiring patience to trim.

It reminds me of how patiently my mother trimmed and cooked dal with Methi. I wish I had some of her patience!

This Mother’s day, I coerced myself to clean and cook Methi. It was an excellent lesson in patience.

methi1Ingredients:

1/2 bunch Methi or Fenugreek leaves
tamarind juice (approx 1/2 cup or as needed)
1 cup toor dal
1-2 jalapeno
1 garlic, peeled (or as much as you want)
1 tsp oil
1-2 red dry red chilli
1/2 tsp black mustard seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds
1/4 tsp fenugreek seeds
1/4 tsp turmeric
a pinch of asafoetida
salt to taste
cilantro to garnish
a little paprika or red crush peppermethi2]JPG

Cook toor dal  in a pressure cooker with two cups water or stove top. Set aside.

Heat the oil in a large pan. Add turmeric, asafoetida, cumin, mustard seeds, garlic and red chilli and fry till golden. Add jalapeno, ginger and curry leaves and fry for a minute.

Add trimmed methi leaves and fry for a minute. Add tamarind juice and bring to boil. Reduce flame, mash and add steamed toor dal and cook for 10-15 minutes in medium low.

Add paprika, or red crushed pepper, and mix well. Garnish with chopped cilantro and serve warm with rice or roti.

Can use left over methi to make methi roti.

methi3.PG

Enjoy with warm rice or roti!

 

2 thoughts on “Methi Dal”

Comments are closed.