Healthy Whole Wheat Chocolate Cherry Muffins


After the intense heat of the summer, I finally dared to turn on the oven, this past weekend to bake some fresh Jalapeno sun-dried tomato bread and these delicious Chocolate Cherry Muffins. I came across this recipe a while back, and had thoughts of baking it with fresh cherries when they could be found in abundance,  but since, I was loath to do anything baking-related during the intense heat of the summer, I opted instead to wait until fall.

IMG_4029

Deeba of PassionateAboutBaking makes everything look so delicious and easy, that I am always motivated and driven to try my hand at baking. I have always been interested in baking, but I don’t have the patience or the courage to try something so rich, decadent and ostentatious as the recipes that she posts. If pictures speak a thousand words, her’s seem to speak in millions!

IMG_4027

While I coveted and craved her Mango Pastel de Tree Leches, I opted instead for the saner, simpler, and healthier: Chocolate Cherry Muffins. I had promised my colleagues, come fall, I would bring in some muffins. Here’s how I made mine:

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup white flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup dry cherries
1/2 cup walnuts (optional)
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp cocoa
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup olive oil
1 cup milk ( I used skim)
1 tsp vanilla essence

IMG_4023

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large bowl, mix all the dry ingredients,1 through 11, including cherries and chocolate chips. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, oil and vanilla essence. Combine with the dry ingredients and mix well.

IMG_4029

Prepare 2-3 cup cake tins. Drop 1-2 tbsp of the mix into the prepared tins. Bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Makes 15 happy and healthy muffins.

IMG_4027

Happy Fall!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Whole Wheat Chocolate Cherry Muffins”

Leave a Reply

