Quick Lunch Series: Zoodles


After thinking about it for some time now, I finally cooked Zoodles and really enjoyed it. My original plan was to make roasted vegetable lasagna as I cooked my sauce, but considering the warm weather, I was loathe to turn on the oven. Instead I switched plans and decided to try Zoodles casserole instead. I conveniently had a box of frozen Zoodles ready to use! Here’s how I made my Zoodles.

Ingredients:

Sauce:
5 Roma tomatoes
1/2 onion chopped
3-4 garlic cloves chopped
some fresh basil leaves
olive oil
salt
cayenne pepper

Zoodles:
olive oil
1-2 garlic cloves minced
chopped onion (optional)
Cheese (I used sliced pepper jack)
salt to taste
some fresh basil sliced
1 pack frozen Zoodles (or use 3-4 spiralized zucchini)

For the home made sauce check out the recipe here.

Heat some olive oil in a pan. Add minced garlic and onion if using and fry for a few seconds till lightly golden. Add Zoodles and continue frying. If using frozen, continue frying until all the moisture evaporates. Season with salt and mix well. Spread out the Zoodles around the pan. Add a layer of sauce on top. Sprinkle cheese and continue cooking till the cheese melts and most of the moisture evaporates. Makes about two servings.

Sprinkle some fresh basil and serve warm.