Red Sorrel and Zucchini Blossom Pizza


This one was an inspiration 🙂

The moment I decided I would do something with the Zucchini blossoms, my mind leaped to the Red Sorrel leaves I had growing in my patio garden, in abundance. And I was very happy with the final result!

pizza5

I wanted a quick to make pizza dough and this time my recipe is based on the one here. I planned to make white flour dough, but at the last minute chickened out and made part whole wheat as usual 🙂 Use 3 1/4 cups white flour if you prefer white dough.

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups white whole purpose or bread flour
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
2 tsp salt
1 packet quick rising yeast
1 1/3 cups warm water
1/4 cup olive oil

pizza2

Toppings:

1 tomato chopped
1 jalapeno sliced
a few zucchini blossoms
a handful of red sorrel leaves chopped
Mozzarella and Parmesan cheese
red pepper flakes
Tomato Sauce (Use your favorite or make some fresh)

pizza1

Add yeast to warm water and set aside. In a large bowl mix the flours and salt. Transfer flour and yeast mix to Kitchen aid mixer and beat on high for 5 minutes. Add olive oil and continue mixing. Toss lightly with more oil if necessary and return to bowl. Cover with wash cloth for an hour or more till the dough doubles in size about an hour or two.

When ready to make the pizza, divide into 2-3 portions and roll out with rolling pin. Dough makes 2 large or 4 personal pizza.

pizza3

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.

Top with cheese, and your favorite toppings. Sprinkle some crushed red pepper and bake for 12-14 minutes. Switch to broil and broil on high for 1-2 minutes.

pizza4

Enjoy warm!

pizza5