Valor Papdi bean (Indian Broad Bean aka Chikkudikaya)


Interestingly, this continues to be the most visited 🙂

Fly 'n Cook

Among all beans, one of my favorites is Indian broad bean or chikkudikaya.  It is not commonly found where I live, yet I constantly look for it in the local Asian grocery where I get my Indian vegetables. Any time I see it in the Asian market (Grand Mart) I snag it.

IMG_3230

My mother always cooked it two ways: one spicy and one sweet. No prizes to guess which was my favorite. Yep you are wrong. While I  love spicy food, this was one that I loved sweet. Here’s how my mother cooked her sweet chikkudikayi.

Ingredients:
How much ever you have of the papdi beans

Seasoning:
1 tsp channa dal
1 tsp urad dal
3-4 dry red whole chili
1 tsp mustard seeds
a cube jaggery or 2-3 tsp brown sugar (or how much ever you like)
a few curry leaves
a pinch of turmeric
a pinch of asafoetida

View original post 206 more words

