Millet and Beets Upma


I continue to try Mediterranean recipes in May. But here is a breather with a healthy and delicious South Indian Recipe.

Fly 'n Cook

I love trying healthy grains (or seeds)  in different ways. Especially those I can substitute for rice.mu2Millet is a relatively unknown small, round, yellow (or white, gray or red) seed. Although the term millet refers to grains, it is not really a grain, but a seed. Millet is widely grown in India, Asia,  and parts of Africa. Certain forms of millet have high protein, minerals, iron and calcium compared to common grains such as rice and wheat. It is gluten free, and a good substitute for other grains such as rice, oats or couscous.It is a source of high energy,

This is my second time cooking it and I can tell you it is not the easiest to cook. It definitely takes longer and needs more preparation than other grains such as Amaranth and Quinoa. For details on preparation and how to cook millet, I found this site with…

View original post 286 more words

One thought on “Millet and Beets Upma”

Comments are closed.