Patio Garden 2015


After dragging my feet the last 2-3 weeks, I finally planted some seeds last weekend. Last year, I had some success with peppers, beans and tomato.  Zucchini gave me a lot of blossoms but no fruit.

Right on cue, come spring, my orchid bloomed. Although my Amarayllis  for the first time failed to bloom 😦

pg

My herbs from last year are still intact — basil, curry leaf, rosemary and parsley.

This year I added cilantro and mint. I haven’t had too much luck with planting cilantro from seed so far. Last year, I got seedlings, but they never quite grew into full-fledged plants. And the moment I moved them outdoors, they became food for squirrels and birds 🙂

This year I am trying to grow mint from seeds. Fingers crossed on that!

pg1

In addition, I have planted two bean varieties – Valor papdi and Gawar  (cluster beans), two eggplant varieties – green and purple, two tomato – yellow pear and red, sweet pepper and bottle gourd.

Once it warms up, I plan to plant some fresh greens: Spinach, Amaranth and Red Sorrel with a possibility of Lettuce varieties in the fall. I am tempted to plant Zucchini and cucumber as well. I plan to definitely pick up a jalapeno pepper and another tomato plant.

My Brussels sprouts plant appears to be still alive, although it hasn’t produced any Brussels Sprouts so far. My blueberry plant too is still alive, although it didn’t produce any fruit last year and unfortunately was infested with some pest.

pg2

I hope to learn some new organic techniques this year, to preserve my plants.  Let see how many will survive and make it through!

 

2 thoughts on “Patio Garden 2015”

Comments are closed.