Lemon, Banana and Cranberry Cake


I came across this recipe a few weeks back and have been wanting to bake it. During my first attempt, I used all whole wheat flour, and it went straight to the trash! So this time I decided to stay with all-purpose flour. I would have replaced it with some amaranth flour if I had some.

cake5

Ingredients:

2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1/3 cup oil
1 large ripe banana
1/2 cup cranberries
1/2 cup pecans
1/2 cup milk or apple sauce (I used milk since I did not have apple sauce)
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 tbsp lemon jest

For the glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar
2 tbsp lemon juice

cake1

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl or stand mixer whisk together banana, oil, eggs, milk, and sugar until smooth. Add flour, baking powder and salt and mix well.

Fold in cranberries and pecans and mix well. Pour into a 9in square pan and bake for 30-35 minutes until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

cake4

Cool on the rack.

Meanwhile whisk together the powdered sugar and lemon juice and spread evenly on the cake once it is cooled. Allow to set before slicing. Enjoy with a hot cup of tea!

cake5

5 thoughts on “Lemon, Banana and Cranberry Cake”

      1. The suggestion in the introduction was to use melted butter instead of the applesauce, not milk.
        Also, in my recipe I used dried cranberries, and I see from the photos you’ve used fresh ones – maybe this also contributed to a denser texture.
        I’m glad that despite of it you still liked the taste. Thanks for sharing your experience. πŸ™‚

        Like

Comments are closed.