Travails of Patio Gardening


I have been crazy about gardening, as long as I have been crazy about cooking: since a teenager! I loved to cook new recipes, bake and take care of the garden in my home. I trimmed, watered and cherished the plants we grew in our garden back home.

I struggled (and continue to struggle ) with squirrels and birds wanting to peck and bite into my tomatoes, jalapenos and finally my bell pepper. Jalapeno really?

garden2plate

Those pesky Squirrels!

This year, I wrapped my tomato plan in some mesh. It was all good until my plant reached the top of the mesh. Unfortunately, the squirrels can reach my tomatoes again, peck into them and bite, pluck or eat them 😦

Next year, I hope to be better prepared and wrap my netting sooner and much better than I did this year.

Go here for tips and tricks for protecting your plants from the marauding squirrels….

cook2

Green Peach Aphid?

Jet of water to the rescue…

vermin1Cabbage Worms?

One evening I found my blueberry plant covered in maybe cabbage-worms? While I didn’t get a single blueberry this year,  I was loath to have my other plants invaded!

Snip…snip…. snip! I trimmed the blueberry plant to bare minimum to rid it of the vermin and prevent proliferation of it…

This year, so far , I have tried:

Water blaster
Bubble Blaster and even
Sergeant Pepper’s Spray.

Here is the recipe for Sergeant Pepper’s Spray. I used Natural Dish-washing liquid.

Ingredients:

6 garlic cloves
1-2 hot peppers
1 tsp dish wash soap
1 cup water

Blend and sift in a coffee/tea filter. Cool. And spray on leaves both over and below.

bugbgon
After lying dormant for a few months, i.e. since late April/May, my Indian broad bean is showing action.

indian

Yeah… I am excited!

Each year I learn something new, and improve my gardening skills. Although rampant with challenges, it has been a great year for organic gardening, as well as semi organic gardening. More so, since I had myriads of seeds from around the world to experiment. While not all seeds are of organic origin, I continue to use organic soil, organic vegetable food and gentle organic practices to rid my plants of unwanted vermin!

The pleasure of, from garden to plate, is beyond doubt incredible!

Resources:

My go 2 site for Organic Gardening!
More Garden to Plate
From Garden to Plate

