A. Soup. A. Week. Green Beans and Pearl Onion


Recently I had purchased a bag of pearl onions. I am always fascinated by them, although when it is time to cook, I wish I hadn’t bought them since it is not always easy to trim and peel them. The one dish that we constantly used them back home was in Sambhar. I wanted to try something new with them this time.

As I started to concoct a plan for the soup this week for A. Soup. A. Week. I started to formulate a recipe where I could use them. I wanted something novel that I couldn’t find a recipe online if I google searched for it. I had a bag of fresh green beans and the idea to make soup with green beans and pearl onions started to materialize. It involved coconut and curry powder and believe me the result was absolutely delightful!

IMG_3549

I had purchased a bottle of coconut oil for another recipe I wanted to try, but never did and the oil has been sitting in the pantry unused. Growing up the only use for coconut oil I knew of was to apply to my hair. My mother never used it in cooking. So this looked like a good time to start using it.

Ingredients:

1 1lb green beans washed trimmed and cut
10-15 pearl onions trimmed and quartered
1 cup coconut milk
2-3 cups water
1-2 tbsp coconut oil
2 tsp curry powder
salt and fresh ground pepper
a few unsweetened coconut flakes

greenbeansoup

Heat the coconut oil in a large pan. Add the beans and the onions and lightly fry. I originally wanted to keep the onions whole but ending up quartering them. I think it should be okay to keep them whole if they are not too big. Add coconut milk, curry powder, water, salt and fresh ground pepper and bring to boil. Lower flame and let simmer for 30-40 minutes.

Remove from flame. Garnish with some coconut flakes and some sunflower seeds and serve warm.

IMG_3548

3 thoughts on “A. Soup. A. Week. Green Beans and Pearl Onion”

  1. Thanks for the ingrediants! Though I do have to say, this very much reminds me of the type of soup my Romanian mother would make. No joke!
    But thanks for sharing! I enjoyed your post and happened to stumble on your blog!
    Would you mind stumbling back to my blog? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

