Day 2-7: Green Smoothie Challenge Conclusion


Although I had lofty intentions of daily blogging my progress while doing the Green Smoothie Challenge, life, work and other matters intervened. The past week was extremely busy. Anyway the only reason I wanted to blog daily was so I could stay on track.

IMG_3271

Turns out I did not really need to blog daily to stay on track. I did keep to the challenge for 6 full days. My daily meal plan included 2 green smoothies, 1 soup and 1 large salad. All filled with plenty of fresh vegetables, green leafy vegetables, fruits and almond or soy milk. I snacked on carrots and celery. I was not as aggressive with the fitness and only did 1 hour of cardio on 4 days due to my hectic schedule. Also my diet was only 98% vegan and not completely caffeine free. I had my daily cup of coffee with skim milk and instant coffee.

IMG_3273

Results: Overall I weighed in 3 lbs lighter on the 8th day. While I might not have lost any inches, my clothes don’t feel too snug.

Here are some thoughts on the whole experience:

On the positive side, the whole experience was good for achieving some discipline in eating habits and also getting back to working out on a regular basis.

On the negative side, it might be a while before I have my next smoothie or eat beans! While starting out it felt really good, by the 4th and 5th day my body was in denial. Although being vegetarian I do eat plenty of beans, I might have overdone it during this challenge.  I decided to quit after the 6th day. On the 7th day I did eat in moderation but did not limit myself to a vegan meal plan.

IMG_3279

One thought on “Day 2-7: Green Smoothie Challenge Conclusion”

Comments are closed.