A. Soup. A. Week Chickpea Soup for the Soul


It has been a dismal week. Cold, cloudy and gloomy. Even days forecast to push temperatures into the 60s proved false. Cold and flu season is rampant. This week’s soup is simple and soothing for the throat and the soul.

IMG_3278

I rarely use chard greens, so when I came across this recipe I thought it would be a perfect addition to my A. Soup. A Week. Also this was the week I went almost vegan to follow the VedgedOut Green Smoothie Challenge. The recipe for this soup with some slight modifications perfectly fit the parameters of the challenge.

Ingredients:
1 cup raw chickpeas
1-2 cups of chard greens
1 carrot diced
1 celery stick diced
1-2 garlic cloves minced
1 jalapeno pepper thinly sliced
1 shallot minced
a piece of ginger
1-2 roma tomatoes
some lemon juice
salt and pepper to taste
2-3 cups water or broth
1 tsp dry parsley

If using raw chickpeas, soak overnight or for at least 8 hours. Pressure cook and set aside. If using canned chickpeas, drain and rinse chickpeas.

As I was doing the challenge, I did not use any oil. But you can saute the vegetables in oil. Add onions, garlic, ginger, carrots, celery, and tomatoes to a large pan or dutch oven. Add broth or water and bring to a boil. Add chickpeas. Reduce flame and cook for about 20 minutes. Add chard greens. Add salt, pepper, lemon juice and parsley. Cook for an additional 5-10 minutes until the greens wilt.

Serve warm. Makes 3-4 helpings.

This is adapted from Eat Live Run. Oh…. I let the Chicken out 🙂

