A. Soup. A. Week Not So Creamy Curried Cauliflower Soup


Cauliflower is one of those vegetables I love to cook. I am constantly on the lookout for new recipes. It is a bland vegetable in my mind so the key to making something I like is to have the right mix of ingredients and spices. I have made the Curried Cauliflower Soup several times and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time I wanted to try something different.

IMG_3246

I started out this soup following The Pioneer Woman’s Creamy Cauliflower Soup. The trouble I had was with all the richness! Too much cream puts me off. I tend to eat creamy soups such as Cream of Broccoli or Cream of  Mushroom very sparingly. Right off the bat I knew the butter had to go. If not for anything else save the fact I had none in my fridge. I also substituted lowfat milk for whole milk.  Here’s how I made my Not so Creamy Curried Cauliflower Soup.

Ingredients:
1 head medium cauliflower
1/2 onion chopped
2 celery sticks diced
1 carrot chopped
a little fresh parsley chopped (1 tbsp)
3 tbsp flour
1 cup 2% milk
1/2 cup half and half
sour cream (optional)
1-2 tsp curry powder
fresh ground black pepper
salt to taste
1 tbsp olive oil
4-5 cups water or broth

IMG_3244

Heat a large pan or dutch oven. Add 1 tbsp oil. Add onions and fry for 2-3 minutes. Add carrots and celery and continue frying for a minute. Add the cauliflower florets and mix well. Next add 1 tbsp of chopped fresh parsley. Mix well. Reduce flame to low. Cover the lid and continue cooking for about 15 minutes stirring as needed.

Pour in the water or broth. Bring to boil, then reduce flame and let it simmer.

IMG_3245

Meanwhile mix flour and milk with a whisk in a bowl. Heat a separate pan. Can use butter if necessary, I just poured the milk flour mix and let it cook and thicken. Next add the half and half and mix well.

Pour the white sauce into the soup. Add salt and mix well. Seemed too tame to me… oh what the hell throw in the curry powder. Maybe one or two teaspoons actually. Add some fresh ground pepper as well if you like.

Serve warm. You can also mix in some sour cream before serving as Ree Drummond does it.

Was just right to soothe my taste buds!

IMG_3246

Leave a Reply

