Tis’ the Season


…for holiday parties

When I saw this Date Bread, I fell in love with it. It looked delicious and I knew I wanted to try it the next opportunity I had. So far my office mates have been generous. Each time I have taken in my experiments with baking, they have appreciated my efforts. And best of all the office party was here.

IMG_3081

I followed this recipe to a T but skipped one step. The outcome was still excellent and my coworkers liked it. But if you want to try it I suggest you don’t skip the step. It was tasty with just the right amount of sweetness, but the final texture I thought was slightly lacking due to the missed step. There is a reason why I missed the step: since I  used egg beaters and I couldn’t separate the egg whites from the yokes and I hoped it wouldn’t matter.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup boiling water
1 cup pitted chopped dates
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1 egg
a little powdered sugar for dusting

IMG_3083

Add boiling water to a bowl. Add dates and baking soda and set aside. In a large bowl mix flour, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl whisk together brown sugar and egg (if you can split the egg, use the yoke here). Mix in the flour mix and the pecans and mix well. Whip the egg whites until stiff and fold into the flour mix. Combine and mix well.

IMG_3079

Grease a 9×5 loaf pan and pour in the batter. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F and bake for 30-40 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on a rack. Dust lightly with powdered sugar before serving.

One thought on “Tis’ the Season”

Comments are closed.