A. Soup. A. Week. Moroccan Lentil Soup


Winter officially starts end of next week. A little ahead of it, I am officially kicking off my A. Soup. A. Week. Each week I will cook a soup for the next 15 weeks until spring.

IMG_3072

I thoroughly enjoy sipping warm soup for lunch. It is especially delightful for that office day lunch. I have a thermos I carry my soup in to work that is air tight, drip free and keeps warm for several hours. I usually heat the soup stove top in the morning, seal it in the thermos and by lunch time it is still hot and refreshing unlike when it is reheated in a microwave oven.

IMG_3075

This one is adapted from Moroccan Lentil Soup by VedgedOut. I rarely use canned vegetables in my cooking or broth in my soups anymore. You can substitute the fresh tomatoes with one can diced tomatoes and the water with broth of preference or just follow the recipe in the link above. Here’s how I made mine.

Ingredients:
2 cups red lentils
2 medium onions chopped
3 garlic cloves minced
3 medium tomatoes chopped
2 carrots chopped
1 tsp ginger powder
1 tsp coriander powder
2 tsp cumin powder
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp turmeric
salt to taste
a few red pepper flakes (optional)
chopped cilantro and parsley for garnish
juice of one lemon
1 tbsp olive oil
5-6 cups water or broth

Heat a large pan on the stove. Add the oil, onion, garlic and carrots. Lightly fry for a few minutes until the onions turn translucent. Wash the red lentils in water and add to the pan. Add tomatoes, spices and water (or broth). Bring to a boil. Reduce to medium low and cook for 30 minutes. Add salt to taste and  lemon juice.

IMG_3071

Garnish with chopped cilantro and parsley and serve hot. This was perfect for lunch away from the cold, blustering day outdoors!

One thought on “A. Soup. A. Week. Moroccan Lentil Soup”

Leave a Reply

