Variation on Roasted Okra


Okra is one of my favorite vegetables. Being a sticky vegetable the only way I really enjoyed it was when my mother fried it with some onion, salt and red chili powder. But frying requires a lot of oil. Being conscientious of healthy cooking I rarely fry my vegetables these days. I roast them in the oven instead. Although there is something to be said about nicely fried vegetables be it okra or potato!

Similar to the recipe I posted earlier (see here) here is a simple variation from my friend Pavani.

Ingredients:
Okra with trimmed edges
1 medium tomato chopped
2-3 garlic cloves minced
salt and red chili powder to taste

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Trim the edges of fresh okra and place in a baking pan. Drizzle some olive oil. Add minced garlic and tomato. Sprinkle salt and red chili powder. Mix lightly. Bake for 45-60 min until cooked and lightly brown. Enjoy with roti or rice or as a side.

One thought on “Variation on Roasted Okra”

Comments are closed.