Hearty Tomato Vegetable Soup


Came across this recipe a while back and been meaning to make it. Finally got a chance to make it today. As always I deviated from the original recipe.

Ingredients:

4-5 ripe tomatoes
1 cup kidney beans or 1 can
2-3 carrots
1-2 celery sticks
1/2 bunch broccoli
2-3 red potatoes (or I used turnip)
1/2 bunch kale (or I used spinach)
1/2 onion chopped
2-3 garlic cloves
1 tsp rosemary
1 tsp basil
1 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

If using fresh beans, soak overnight. I usually cook my beans after soaking them for at least 8 eights in a pressure cooker.

In a medium pan heat the olive oil. Add the cut tomatoes and let cook for 5 minutes. Add one cup of water and remove from flame. Use a hand blender to blend the tomatoes into chunks. Return to low flame and add 2 more cups water. Add chopped onions and garlic and bring to a boil. Add rosemary and basil. Add the chopped kale, broccoli, carrots and celery. Add salt and pepper and beans and let cook on medium heat to up to 30 minutes. Stir as needed. I added the chopped spinach 5-10 minutes before I removed from the flame.

Serve hot with some croutons and Parmesan cheese. Delicious!

You can find the original recipe here

